24 Hour
475 Wall St, Princeton, NJ 08540
July, 18 2018
DUI Consequences in New Jersey

The sinking feeling in your stomach when you see a police cruiser behind your car is one of the worst feelings you can have in your life. It can be even more devastating to you if you’ve had a few alcoholic beverages with your meal or after closing a big deal. DUI consequences can vary on a number of conditions, but they can all throw your life into upheaval. Learn more about these consequences and what you can do to if you find yourself in a situation where you’re charged with a DUI.

New Jersey DUI Consequences

The DUI consequences that you can face in New Jersey typically depend upon your prior experience although there are some other factors that can impact your penalties. A first offense will usually have less severe consequences than following offenses.

First Offense

Some of the penalties that you can expect during the first offense for a DUI include:

  • Jail time sentence that can go up to 30 days
  • Fines between 250 and 500 dollars
  • Suspension of a license of three months up to a year
  • The potential for an IID being installed in your car

Second Offense

Some of the penalties for a second offense include:

  • Jail time sentence that can go up to 90 days
  • Fines between 500 and 1,000 dollars
  • Suspension of a license for two years
  • The potential for an IID being installed in your car

Third Offense

Some of the penalties for a third offense include:

  • Jail time sentence that can go up to 180 days
  • Fines of a 1,000 dollars
  • Suspension of a license for 10 years
  • The potential for an IID being installed in your car

There are additional penalties that are often tacked upon these no matter for the offense. For instance, there are fees for the motor vehicle restoration, the intoxicated driver program, and fees that go to the state and municipality.

Lookback Period

In New Jersey, there is a lookback period for the amount of time that prior offenses will be relevant to your current offense. This concept may also be known by some as a washout period. In New Jersey, it’s 10 years. So, for instance, if you were charged with a DUI in college that was over ten years ago, that would not count against you if you’re currently facing charges.

Refusal to Take Chemical Test

You may think that in the heat of the moment, it’s a good idea to refuse to take the chemical test when you’ve been pulled over. However, in New Jersey, refusal to take a chemical test can also result in DUI consequences. The reason behind these consequences is because of an implied consent law that exists in New Jersey. This rule in effect is that refusal to take the test results in penalties. You will have a fine that you have to pay, and your license will automatically be under suspension. The first offense of refusing to take the chemical test is the loss of your license for seven months. The second time this happens, you will lose your license for two years. A third time will result in the revocation of your license for a ten year period.

IID and DUI Consequences

An IID or ignition interlock device is a potential DUI consequence that you may have to face in New Jersey. It is required if you have been convicted of a DUI and your driving privileges have been restricted.

This type of device is basically just a breathalyzer test that’s been added to your car’s ignition. It works by not allowing your car to start if it detects alcohol on the breath of the driver. You have to blow into a tub to get the car to start.

Some models also have rolling tests. This type of test is where it requires you to blow into the device at random intervals while driving. The device will beep, and you’ll have about five minutes to blow into the tube. Failing a rolling test won’t shut the car off as this could be a safety hazard, but the results are stored in the device.

Professional Assistance

Going it alone through the criminal justice system with a DUI charge can be difficult. You may be made to feel as though you should take whatever the system throws at you. This idea is false. Everyone deserves the right of representation. It makes sense to obtain the help from a professional. An experienced DUI attorney can assist in making a difference in the DUI consequences that you face. They understand the process, and what your options are for your particular case. It’s important to do what’s best for you in this case as DUI consequences can follow you long past when the incident occurred.

Are you in need of an experienced DUI attorney in New Jersey to assist you with your DUI case? It doesn’t matter if this is your first time facing this charge or you’ve been through it before, the Law Office of Douglas Herring is ready to go over your options. Contact us today to discuss your personal situation and how to handle it best. Let’s work together to help you protect your future.

Get a Free Consultation