24 Hour
475 Wall St, Princeton, NJ 08540

First Offense DUI Information

First Time DUI Offense Overview

So you had a few drinks at the bar, and you know you should have called a cab. But you decided to drive, and as you turn the corner, you see the red and blue lights behind you. When you get arrested in New Jersey for a First Time DUI Offense, you may face some serious, life-changing issues. A first time DUI offense has different penalties depending on your blood alcohol level at the time of your arrest. It is important to remember that if you are pulled over you keep calm, be respectful and contact a New Jersey DUI Attorney immediately.

First Time DUI Offense with a BAC 0.08% to 0.10%

If you have a blood alcohol level of 0.08% and less than 0.10% you may face the following penalties:

  • 3 month loss of license
  • $250-400 Fine
  • $230 IRDC Fee
  • $100 to Drunk Driving Fund
  • $100 to AERF
  • $1000 per year surcharge
  • $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Prison time for up to 30 days
  • Have to attend the IDRC for 12-48 Hours

First Time DUI Offense with a BAC 0.08% or greater

The state of New Jersey has more severe penalties for a First Time DUI if your BAC is over 0.08%. They include longer possible jail time as well as the possibility of an ignition interlock system.

If you have a blood alcohol level of 0.08% and less than 0.10% you may lose your license for:

  • 7 Month to 1 Year Loss of License
  • $300-$500 Fine
  • $230 IRDC Fee
  • $100 to Drunk Driving Fund
  • $100 to AERF
  • $1000 per year surcharge
  • $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Prison time for up to 30 days
  • Have to attend the IDRC for 12-48 Hours

You will also have to use an ignition interlock device during your license suspension and after for a period lasting six months to 1 year. This must be installed at your own expense.

It is incredibly important that if you’re arrested for a First Time DUI Offense that you contact an experienced New Jersey DUI Attorney. The Law Office of Douglas Herring has more than experience; they have a proven track record of results. If you have been arrested it is imperative that you contact the DUI Help Center at the Law Office of Douglas Herring now at (844) 652-2287

Get a Free Consultation