New Jersey Traffic Violations
Traffic violations are expensive. You are not only charged a fine, but you can also be subjected to higher insurance premiums for years, Motor Vehicle Commission surcharges, court costs, and even time in prison. Luckily for you, Herring Defense can help. Douglas Herring has years of experience defending people with speeding or other traffic violations in court.
Many people make the mistake of admitting guilt, paying their fine, and moving on. However, you should consult with an attorney first. You may be able to avoid some of, it not all, of the penalties from your ticket. Just like with criminal cases, you want to have the best representation possible. Contact Herring Defense today for help with your speeding tickets and traffic violations.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) uses a point system to keep track of your violations on your driving record. Whether you commit a violation in New Jersey or out of the state, the MVC will add points to your license. If you accumulate enough points your driver’s license will be suspended. Here is a table of common moving violations and their point values:
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-129||Leaving scene of accident (injury)||8|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-96||Reckless driving||5|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-98||Speeding (30 mph over limit)||5|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-128.1||Improper passing of school bus||5|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-85||Improper passing||4|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-98||Speeding (15-29 mph over limit)||4|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-123||Improper turn||3|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-88||Unsafe lane change||2|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-98||Speeding (1-14 mph over limit)||2|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-97||Careless driving||2|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-129||Leaving scene of accident (no injury)||2|
|N.J.S.A. 39:4-105||Failure to stop for traffic light||2|
Collecting 12 points in a 2-year period will result in a suspension of your driving privileges. However, there are ways to reduce the number of points on your record. The three ways to reduce points on your license include:
- Driver Improvement Program: Completing this program will remove 3 points from your record.
- Defensive Driving Course: Voluntarily completing a MVC-approved defensive driving course will remove two points from your record. However, this reduction is only available every five years.
- Avoiding New Violations: Every year that you do not have a moving violation, three points will be removed from your driving record.
Court Costs, Fines, Surcharges
In addition to impacting your driving record, you should also consider the following when you receive a ticket:
Fighting your ticket in court can cost you up to $33 depending on the municipality.
Each traffic violation carries a specific fine. You can find a full list of the fines here. Obviously, the more serious the violation, the higher the fine.
Convictions for specific violations can result in MVC surcharges once a year for every three years. These violations include:
|Driving without a license||$100|
|Driving with a suspended license||$250|
|Driving without liability insurance||$250|
Also, getting more than six points in any three-year period could result in a surcharge of $150 plus $25 for each additional point on your record.
Lastly, moving violations increase your insurance premiums. These increases vary depending on your insurance company, the violation, and your driving record. Here is an example of the types of increases that you can expect in your insurance premiums:
|Driving without a license||18%|
|Speeding (30 mph over limit)||15%|
|Speeding (15-29 mph over limit)||12%|
|Speeding (1-14 mph over limit)||11%|
You Need Help
As you can see, there are quite a few consequences of traffic violations. Therefore, you will want to find an attorney that can help you mitigate some of these consequences. Herring Defense can contest your ticket or try to reduce the charges that you are facing. Don’t wait until it is too late, contact us today!