24 Hour
475 Wall St, Princeton, NJ 08540

What Are the Penalties for a DUI in New Jersey?

If you’re charged for a DUI in New Jersey, the possible penalties for a first, second, and third-time offenses are:

  • First-time Offense
    • Up to 30 days in jail
    • Between $250-$500 in fines
    • Between 3 months to 1-year license suspension
    • Possibility for an Ignition Interlock Device fitted in your vehicle
  • Second-time Offense
    • Up to 90 days in jail
    • Between $500-$1,000 in fines
    • 2 years license suspension
    • Possibility for an Ignition Interlock Device fitted in your vehicle
  • Third-time Offense
    • 180 days in jail
    • Minimum $1,000 in fines
    • 10 years license suspension
    • Possibility for an Ignition Interlock Device fitted in your vehicle

For all offenses, you will also have to pay an additional $500 plus in fines to cover State and Municipality fees, an Intoxicated Driver Program fee, Violent Crimes Compensation fee, vehicle restoration fee, a surcharge for the drunk driving enforcement fund, and some discretionary costs.

Get a Free Consultation

Get a Free Consultation: