In New Jersey, traffic violations can cost you a pretty penny. In addition to paying a high fine, you may also have higher insurance rates. Those who have serious violations could even receive time in prison. With such strict penalties for traffic violations, New Jersey is a bad place to be caught breaking speed limit laws. Find out everything that you should know about the NJ speed limit laws. You may be able to save yourself from a speeding ticket.
The Penalties of Breaking the NJ Speed Limit Laws
In New Jersey, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission records every one of your traffic violations as points. Both in-state and out-of-state violations end up on your record. After you have a certain amount of points on your driving record, you could face a license suspension.
Like other traffic violation, breaking the NJ speed limit laws results in points on your license. The amount of points you receive depends on your speed. If an officer catches you speeding between one and 14 miles per hour over the speed limit, you get two points. Speeding 15 to 29 miles per hour over the speed limit results in four points on your record. And going 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit results in five points on your record.
If you collect 12 points in two years of driving, you will get a license suspension. This could mean as few as three violations for breaking the NJ speed limit laws. There are ways to reduce the number of points on your license. However, speeding violations can quickly add up
Points on your driving record aren’t the only negative consequence of a speeding violation. If you get a speeding violation, you need to pay court fees. Although the fees depend on where you live, they can cost as much as $33. In addition to court fees, there are fines. As the severity of the violation increases, the fine increases. For example, speeding one to nine miles per hour over the legal limit results in a fine of $85. However, speeding 10 to 14 miles per hour over the legal limit results in a fine of $95. Going 15 to 19 miles per hour over the speed limit comes with a fine of $105.
Once you go 20 miles per hour or more over the limit, the fines double. For example, driving 20 to 24 miles per hour over the limit results in a $200 fine. Going 25 to 29 miles per hour over the limit results in a $220 fine. The fines continue to increase as your speed increases. If you speed in a construction zone or speed in a commercial vehicle, the fines also increase.
Your Insurance Premiums
It’s also important to consider how your speeding violation will impact your auto insurance. Although the increase varies depending on your car insurance provider, there are a few generalities. You could expect an 11% increase in your insurance for speeding one to 14 miles per hour over the speed limit. For speeding 15 to 29 miles per hour over the limit, you could see a 12% increase. And going 30 miles per hour or more over the limit could get you a 15% increase.
Your insurance premiums might not only increase for one year. In fact, many people notice the increase for several years after a moving violation.
How Fast Can You Go?
In New Jersey, speeding comes at a high price. However, many people still choose to push the limits. And that doesn’t always result in a moving violation. A former New Jersey police sergeant explained that many police departments will allow a driver to go at least ten miles an hour over the speed limit. On the highway, they may allow you more leeway. Even if an officer pulls you over, he may only issue you with a warning. In some situations, he may hand you a ticket for a lower speed.
However, police officers do have the right to pull you over for going even one mile per hour over the limit. It all depends on the police department, the location, and the officer. In a school zone or a construction zone, a police officer may be less forgiving. There is no way to guarantee that an officer won’t pull you over for speeding unless you don’t break the NJ speed limit laws.
Avoiding Serious Consequences
The best way to avoid serious consequences for speeding is to drive the speed limit. However, that doesn’t always happen. If you find yourself with a speeding violation, you need the help of a lawyer. Even a minor violation can lead to trouble. With great representation, you could avoid points on your license.
If you find yourself with a speeding violation of more than 30 miles an hour above the limit, legal representation is even more important. There may be a way for you to avoid the strict penalties. You should talk to a lawyer and find out what she can do for you.