Third Time DUI Offense Overview: New Jersey
For Third Time DUI Offenses and subsequent offenses, New Jersey does not pull any punches. The penalties involved with these monumental offenses are beyond stressful; they are completely life altering. You will be crippled with insurance rate increases as well as jail time, and you will not have you license for a decade. Ignition interlock will become part of your life, and it will be nearly impossible to find gainful employment. A Third Time DUI Charge is not a charge you will be able to defeat in court without the best of the best in lawyers.
Third Time DUI Offense Penalties
If you have a blood alcohol level over 0.08% you will lose your license for:
- 10 Years
You are also charged these fees:
- $1,000 Fine
- $280 IRDC Fee
- $100 to Drunk Driving Fund
- $100 to AERF
- $1,500 per year surcharge (3 years)
- $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
Mandatory prison time for:
- 180 Days
Community service for:
- 90 Days (this can reduce your time of imprisonment)
You will have to attend the IRDC for:
- 12-48 Hours
An ignition interlock device is required to be installed your vehicle. This device must be used for:
- The duration of your license suspension plus an additional 1-3 years after your license has been reinstated.
The charges for a Third Time DUI Offense are obviously life-changing. By choosing to drink and drive you have put your well-being, and likely the well being of your family at risk. While the court system is not likely to be lenient, reasonably the only course of action is to contact a New Jersey DUI Attorney. By choosing a lawyer with experience as both a prosecutor and a defense attorney you will have a better chance of having your charges for a Third Time DUI Offense. modified or dropped. The Law Office of New Jersey DUI Attorney Douglas Herring is available 24 hours a day to assist you with your Third Time DUI Offense at (844) 652-2287.