24 Hour
475 Wall St, Princeton, NJ 08540
February, 14 2019
What to Do If You Are Facing Your Third DUI Offense

Being convicted of a DUI is a serious charge, but it can also be a manageable mistake. You’ll likely pay fines and deal with a suspended license, but overall, it’s a charge that you’ll eventually recover from. Of course, a second DUI offense leads to higher penalties and more costly fines. A third DUI offense puts you in a very compromising position with much more severe consequences. It’s important to work closely with an experienced DUI attorney if you are charged with your third DUI offense. If you were able to avoid jail time after your first or second DUI, it’s less likely that you’ll be able to avoid it for the third time. That’s why having a trusted attorney on your side is important in these circumstances. In this article, we explain all of the penalties, fines, and repercussions for your third DUI offense in the state of New Jersey.

 

Consequences for DUI’s in New Jersey:

Below is a list of all of the fines, penalties, and potential consequences of DUI charges in New Jersey. First and second offenses are listed for comparison.

 

First DUI Offense:

 

  • Jail time for up to 30 days
  • Fines ranging from $240-$500
  • Your license will be suspended for at least 3 months and up to one year.
  • You’ll face the possibility of an IID (Ignition Interlock Device)

 

Second DUI Offense:

 

  • Jail time for up to 90 days
  • Fines ranging from $500-$1,000
  • Your license will be suspended for at least 2 years
  • You’ll face the possibility of an IID (Ignition Interlock Device)

 

Third DUI Offense:

 

  • Jail time for up to 180 days
  • Fines starting at $1,000 (minimum)
  • Your license will be suspended for at least 10 years
  • An IID (Ignition Interlock Device) will be installed
  • You’ll be required to pay an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 for the next 3 years

 

Will I Need an Ignition Interlock Device?

Many states are now making it mandatory for anyone convicted of a DUI to install an Ignition Interlock Device on their vehicle. If you’re facing a third DUI offense, you’ll be required to install an IID in your car. An IID is basically a breathalyzer, or breath-test machine, that connects to your car’s ignition. An official will come to your home to install the device on your car and return to remove it once your penalty period is over and all of your requirements are met. Once the IID is installed, you will not be able to start your car if there is alcohol in your system. The car will only start if your alcohol-free. Of course, the point of an IID is to prevent someone who is under the influence to be able to start the car. The length of time that an IID is installed in a vehicle will depend on the severity of the conviction. If it’s only your first DUI, you’ll more than likely only have the IID installed for a six to eight-month period. However, if this is your third DUI offense, you could be dealing with an IID installed in your car for several years. It’s important to remember that these Ignition Interlock Devices are quite costly as well. You’ll have to pay a fee of $50-$150 to have it installed and removed. You’ll also pay a monthly fee of $50-$150 for an IID which covers your monitoring fees, maintenance fees, and leasing fees.

 

What is the Lookback Period?

If you’re charged with your third DUI offense, it’s important to know when your first and second DUI charges took place. New Jersey is a state that recognizes a “lookback” or “washout” period, which is set to 10 years. Basically, if you’ve been charged with a first and second DUI within the last 10 years, your third DUI offense penalties will be carried out as third offense penalties. However, if your first and second offense were over 10 years ago, they won’t count against you and your third DUI offense and penalties will be carried out as if it was your first conviction.

 

Other Necessary Fines for All DUI Offenses

  • State and Municipality fee $100
  • Violent Crimes Compensation fee $100
  • Intoxicated Driver Program fee $100
  • Motor Vehicle Restoration fee $100
  • Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund $100

 

For More Information on Your Third DUI Offense

It’s important to remember that a third DUI offense is not a charge to take lightly. Not only will you face jail time and expensive fines, but you’ll also likely be required to do community service, attend Alcoholics Anonymous, or attend another substance abuse treatment program. The aftereffects of these charges are significant and can result in various punishments and time-consuming commitments. It’s crucial to have proper representation in these circumstances. Contact an experienced DUI attorney today to learn more about what to do if you’re facing a third DUI offense.  

Get a Free Consultation